Part of our new installation in our new display case. Half of the case is communion, while the other has vintage items connected with weddings.
Here’s is a collection of Holy Cards that were sent to us this week by a lady in Springville NY. These cards date back to 1879. We are very grateful for the wonderful surprise donation.
If you are cleaning and find anything like this, the Art Center would like to have it.
This is another example of the artifacts and photography we would like to collect. If you have anything like this and would like to donate it to our collection, please contact us.
Do you have anything medals like this at your house? You may not think it is important, but we do! We collect old church memorabilia, rosaries, wedding pictures, prayer books, especially First Communion prayer books and photos from before 1950. Please let us know – we might add it to our collection
The Buffalo Religious Arts Center was on channel 7 on July 18, 2013! It was a segment called “Good Things Happening.” We think we’re a good thing happening too.
This is the interior of the former Saint Francis Xavier church which is now the Buffalo Religious Arts Center.
The National Trust Conference, hosted in Buffalo in October 2011, put our city’s architectural treasury of civic, sacred and residential landmarks “front and center” for a national audience. In the aftermath of this high profile event, a new collaborative, titled the Buffalo Alliance for Sacred Places, was formed “to promote the preservation and appreciation of the art, architecture and history of Buffalo’s houses of worship.” The member organizations are First Presbyterian Church, Blessed Trinity Church, Corpus Christi Church, the Chapel at Forest Lawn Cemetery and the Buffalo Religious Arts Center. Each site is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Buffalo Alliance sites have chosen to participate in The New York Landmarks Conservancy’s third annual Sacred Sites Open House Weekend on May 18-19, joining dozens of religious institutions throughout New York State in welcoming the public to special programming during this unique event, as follows:
Blessed Trinity Church, 317 Leroy Avenue
Saturday, May 18 from 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, May 19 from 12:00 Noon – 2:00 p.m.
Information at: www.blessedtrinitybuffalo.org or 716-833-0301
Blessed Trinity is recognized as the purest replication of Lombard-Romanesque architecture in the United States and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The extensive use of terra cotta in its construction (1923-1928) provided for one of its most unique features: an elaborate display of medieval iconography created by Rev. Thomas Plassmann, then President of St. Bonaventure University. The church contains more than two thousand symbols which depict this “summa” or summary of Christian beliefs in ceramic tiles, paintings and sculpture, and docents will be available to help interpret them.
The Buffalo Religious Arts Center, 157 East Street
Saturday, May 18, and Sunday, May 19 from 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.
Information at: www.buffaloreligiousarts.org or 716-481-2350
The Buffalo Religious Arts Center is located in the former St. Francis Xavier Church, in the historic Black Rock neighborhood on the West Side of Buffalo. This unique gallery is dedicated to the preservation of Buffalo’s rich religious heritage through the collection and display of art and artifacts from many of the area’s closed houses of worship. The artifacts on display include stained glass, statuary and paintings, all of which reveal the story of the many immigrants who settled in Buffalo.
Corpus Christi R. C. Church, 199 Clark Street
Saturday, May 18 from 12:00 Noon – 2:00 p.m.
Information at: www.corpuschristibuffalo.org or 716-896-1050
On Saturday at 11:00 a.m., Henry Swiatek, a specialist in church painting and restoration, will give a presentation in the chapel on the significance of recently restored murals in this space. The chapel is located in the former convent building on Clark Street, to the right of the church.
Corpus Christi Church is located on the State and National Registers of Historic Places, and was honored in 2010 with a Preservation Buffalo Niagara Preservation Award. The iconic mural above the church altar, considered one of the most significant pieces of ecclesiastical artwork in the United States, was recently restored to its original splendor. This exquisite artwork is a rendering of a Vatican masterpiece by celebrated, Renaissance painter Raphael Santi. The mural was originally painted in the 1920’s by Marion Rzeznik and Gonippo Raggi, both of whom are considered premier, 20th century artists of ecclesiastical paintings.
First Presbyterian Church, One Symphony Circle
Saturday, May 18, and Sunday, May 19 from 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Information at: www.firstchurchbuffalo.org
First Presbyterian Church, a Buffalo city landmark, was the first faith community in Buffalo. Founded in 1812, it is often referred to as the “Mother of All Churches.” Even Teddy Roosevelt worshipped here! The Romanesque church was designed by Buffalo architects Green and Wicks. Notable features include the main dome, towering 64 ft. above the floor of the nave, decorated in a Persian design. The apse features four medallions depicting the Four Evangelists, adapted from carvings on the doors of St. Mark’s in Venice, Italy, while the chandeliers are copies of those in Hagia Sophia in Constantinople.
Chapel at Forest Lawn, Delaware & West Delavan Avenues
Saturday, May 18, and Sunday, May 19 from 3:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Information at: www.forest-lawn.com or 716-885-1600
Forest Lawn’s historic chapel was constructed in 1882, 32 years after the first burial took place, using plans created by Joseph Earnshaw, an engineer from Cincinnati. The facility was constructed using limestone from Forest Lawn’s own quarry. In 1933, the Wurlitzer pipe organ –made in North Tonawanda, NY – was installed. The chapel’s terrazzo floors and vaulted ceilings provide ideal acoustics for recitals and receptions.
Renowned local architect Edward B. Green was contracted to design a crematory and a columbarium for the chapel; they were completed in 1933. A chancel was also added, as well as a cloister. In 1954, the portico was constructed, extending from the chapel entrance to the road.
As Forest Lawn embraces its new purpose as a cultural destination for local residents and tourists alike, the chapel has become an integral part of many events and activities. Over the past few years, the chapel has hosted more than 5,000 guests for such special events as lectures, concerts, special group tours, symposiums and more. Forest Lawn is the only local full-service cemetery for traditional and cremation arrangements listed on the State and National Registries of Historic Places.
ALL EVENTS ARE FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
Since 1986 The New York Landmarks Conservancy’s Sacred Sites program has supported more than 675 religious institutions throughout the state which have received over $7.7 million in matching grants. Sacred Sites is the country’s oldest and largest statewide grant program to help landmark religious properties. Corpus Christi, Blessed Trinity, First Presbyterian and the Buffalo Religious Arts Center have all received matching grants from the Sacred Sites program.
The window of St. John the Evangelist was installed at the Buffalo Religious Arts Center on April 16, 2013.
It was originally housed in the former St Francis Xavier Church in Rochester, New York. The window was made by the Pike Stained Glass Studio, c1911. William Pike started his company in 1908 after working for the Louis Comfort Tiffany Studios in New York City. This breathtaking window stands at 10 feet tall.
Mary Holland, Director, Buffalo Religious Art Center will be lecturing at the Downtown Buffalo & Erie County Public Library for the 2013 C-SAAHN “IMAGINE” Buffalo Niagara as a Bi-National Cultural Center: Appreciating Buildings, History & Nature” Noon-Hour Lecture/Discussion Series
On August 26th the Buffalo Religious Arts Center held the reception for the Bi-National Heritage Peace Garden Trail Dedication. The Black Rock Historical Society also held their dedication for their traveling museum, showcasing the heritage of Black Rock and giving an overview of Black Rock’s history and the history of the War of 1812. Not only was the display extremely informative, but we also had the chance to watch a video that highlighted the key events and connection between Black Rock and the War of 1812. These events included the capture of the ships, Bisshopp’s raid on Black Rock, the Burning and Battle of Black Rock, and the Battle of Scajaquada Creek. For more details on the War of 1812 visit the Black Rock Historical Society’s website at www.blackrockhistoricalsociety.com
Around 2 PM we headed out on the walking tour of the Market Square District. We stopped along the way to see key preservation sites. The War of 1812 Mural Project was done by local artists, also showing the history of Black Rock from the original Black Rock and Native Americans, to the new Peace Garden located at Dearborn and Hamilton streets. The mural highlights the talent of the artists J. Tim Raymond, Russell Mott, Doreen Deboth and Jerome A. Mach, Joe Tempski, and Cynthia Van Ens. The mural wraps around the corner of Amherst street (before it turns into Tonawanda). Not only does it add vibrancy to the neighborhood but it also commemorates the War of 1812 and informs the onlooker of the neighborhood’s history. An event such as this shows the importance of community preservation and also what can be accomplished by those who take pride in the neighborhood and care to preserve its history.
Written by Erin Radetich
Below are some pictures that show the Black Rock Historical Society’s display in the BRAC :
1 pm – Unveiling of the sign and dedication of the Trail at the corner of Dearborn and Hamilton Streets at the Peace Garden Site
1:30 pm – Reception at the Buffalo Religious Arts Center at 157 East Street. Display of the Black Rock Heritage Museum
2:00pm – Walking tour of the Market Square Historic District and the Black Rock Mural
For further information contact Mary Ann Kendron at 716.440.9016
8TH ANNUAL ANNUAL BLACK ROCK RIVERSIDE
TOUR OF GARDENS
Saturday August 4, 2012
10am to 5pm
Black Rock and Riverside are outstanding communities rich in heritage and deep in pride. The Garden Tour encourages beautification of home
and of neighborhoods along with promoting activities that help build a sense of community.
Visit our two headquarters, St. Mark’s Church, 311 Ontario St and Buffalo Religious Arts Center, 157 East St.
for maps, information or promotional items.
If you have questions email firstname.lastname@example.org
BE A HERO AND SAVE THE DAY
Now it’s time to shine a spotlight on our city’s equally impressive sacred sites.
While Americans flock to the great churches of Europe, there are equally
extraordinary houses of worship to be explored right here in our own
backyard. These landmarks need your help. Now, for the cost of a bus tour,
you can be a superhero.
The tour includes:
Blessed Trinity R. C. Church -the purest replication of Lombard Romanesque architecture in the United States, noted for its unique brickwork and extensive use of ceramics.
First Presbyterian Church – the oldest faith community in Buffalo, established in 1812, features Tiffany designed stained glass windows.
Corpus Christi R.C. Church – saved from closing in 2004, highlights include exquisite stained-glass windows and an iconic mural, considered to be one of the most significant examples of ecclesiastical artwork in the United States.
The Buffalo Religious Arts Center – established to collect and preserve art from houses of worship that have closed in Western New York. This collection of stained glass windows, statuary, and works of art provide a unique insight into Buffalo’s culture and history.
A portion of the tour proceeds goes directly to maintain these irreplaceable sites.
So grab a friend, play tourist for the day, and help save some of Buffalo’s heavenly landmarks.
Contact Know How Tours at 716-649- 9694 to make your tour reservations
for August 28, 2012. $79.00 per person
The Bazaar took place in the summerof 1899 when the former St. Francis Xavier church was 50 years old. It is filled with storiesof the lives of the parishioners as well as a day by day account ofevents at the Bazaar which wasfilled with activities and raffles.
An excited air was buzzing on June 16th. The BRAC was a proud participant in the Discover Amherst Street Festival Parade. The floats came rolling down east street–by car, truck, and by horse drawn wagon– around 12:30, and the Buffalo Religious Art Center rang the bells to welcome them as they went by.
Keep an eye out for our banner in the parade! And makes sure to stop by the church! http://www.facebook.com/events/118691091602700/
Amherst Street and Black Rock are becoming the up can coming neighborhood. Happening this June 16th will be the Amherst Street Festival. Come and enjoy a array of different entertainment and activities. There will be Art, Music, Contests, Prizes, Food, Drinks, and a Parade – which will have a banner for the BRAC (Buffalo Religious Art Center)!
Check out more information at:
Guided walking tour, no reservations. Tour Bucks & Groupons allowed.
Two tours in one! Discover the rich art, history, and architecture of this little-known riverside community that dates back to the early 1800s. Admission includes a guided tour inside the Buffalo Religious Arts Center in the former St. Francis Xavier Church.
Meet at Amherst St & Niagara St
$10 per person, $5 for students
Upcoming Tour Dates
Saturday, June 23, 2012, 1–3 pm
Saturday, July 21, 2012, 1–3 pm
Saturday, September 22, 2012, 1–3 pm
Saturday, October 20, 2012, 1–3 pm
On Sunday, April 22, 2012 the BRAC was filled with angelic voices and organ music. We were lucky to be the only museum to host the Children’s Choir.
Here’s a video: http://youtu.be/oJew034tMCY
And, this past May 20, 2012 at 2 pm the BRAC was bustling with over 100 visitors. We were the hosts to the Black Rock Heritage Tail Traveling Museum, featuring the War of 1812 events and historic locations and buildings in Black Rock’s Market Square District. The founders of this amazing project are Warren Glover, Mary Ann Kedron (who spoke at the event), Bill Parke, Scott Glasgow, and Doreen DeBoth.
During the event, guests were encouraged to look around the BRAC at the artwork and then make their way to the front of the church where the Trail Traveling Museum was located. The BRAC is one of 10 sites along the historical trail. Also, people were allowed to tai their picture with war of 1812 soldiers!
With already so much going on, it’s exciting to see what else is going to happen this summer!